## 3.3.1.7 Manitoba

In addition to a lieutenant-governor, Manitoba has an executive council composed of 15 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a maximum term of five years. The Honourable Francis L. Jobin became lieutenant-governor on March 15, 1976. In the general election October 11, 1977, 33 Progressive Conservatives, 23 New Democrats and one Liberal were elected to the 31st Legislature.

The premier of the province is paid a salary of \$16,600 a year and each of the other members of the cabinet \$15,600. Members of the legislature were each paid a sessional indemnity of \$12,199 and a tax-free expense allowance of \$6,099 for the fiscal year ended March 31, 1978. Each member attending the session receives an additional allowance of \$900 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties as member. The leader of the opposition is paid \$15,600. The speaker of the Legislative Assembly receives an additional indemnity of \$5,000 and expenses not exceeding \$1,500 in aggregate. The deputy speaker receives an additional indemnity of \$2,500 and expenses not exceeding \$500 in aggregate. Members required to live away from home receive a per diem allowance of \$25 from the opening of the session to prorogation excepting days during an adjournment for a period of four or more continuous days.

## The Executive Council of Manitoba in November 1977

- Premier, President of the Executive Council, Minister of Dominion-Provincial Relations and Chairman of Management Committee of Cabinet (Treasury Board), Hon. Sterling Lyon
- Minister of Finance, Minister charged with the administration of the Manitoba Hydro Act and Chairman of the Manitoba Energy Council, Hon. Donald Craik
- Minister of Consumer, Corporate and Internal Services, Minister of Co-operative Development, Minister responsible for Manitoba Telephone System and Communications and Minister responsible for administration of Manitoba Lotteries Act, Hon. Ed McGill
- Minister without portfolio and Government House Leader, Hon, Warner Jorgenson
- Minister of Health and Social Development and Minister responsible for Corrections and Rehabilitation, Hon. L.R. (Bud) Sherman
- Minister without portfolio and Co-Chairman of Task Force on Government Organization and Economy, Hon. Sidney Spivak
- Minister of Public Works, Minister of Highways and Minister responsible for Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation, Hon. Harry Enns

- Minister without portfolio and Minister responsible for Manitoba Housing and Renewal Corporation, Hon. J. Frank Johnston
- Minister of Agriculture, Hon. James E. Downey
- Minister of Education and Minister of Continuing Education and Manpower, Hon. Keith A. Cosens
- Attorney-General, Keeper of the Great Seal, Minister of Municipal Affairs, Minister for Urban Affairs and Minister responsible for administration of the Liquor Control Act, Hon. Gerald W.J. Mercier
- Minister of Industry and Commerce, Minister of Tourism, Recreation and Cultural Affairs and Minister responsible for the administration of the Manitoba Development Corporation Act, Hon. Robert Banman
- Minister of Labour, Minister responsible for the Civil Service Act, the Civil Service Superannuation Act, the Public Servants Insurance Act and the Pensions Benefits Act, Hon. Norma L. Price
- Minister of Northern Affairs and Minister of Renewable Resources and Transportation Services, Hon. Ken MacMaster
- Minister of Mines, Resources and Environmental Management, Hon. Brian Ransom.

## 3.3.1.8 Saskatchewan

The government of Saskatchewan consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a Legislative Assembly. On March 3, 1976 the Honourable George Porteous became lieutenant-governor. The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 61, elected for a maximum term of five years. As a result of the general election June 11, 1975, 39 New Democrats, 15 Liberals and seven Progressive Conservatives were elected to form Saskatchewan's 18th Legislature.

The premier receives \$24,580 and each cabinet minister \$18,205 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity and allowance. The leader of the opposition receives \$18,205 plus an office allowance of \$35,000 per annum. The leader of a third party